Annual Conference Advisory Board

The purpose of the Advisory Board is to oversee the curriculum and activities of the Annual Conference in order to advance the academic advising field globally – includes keynote session, concurrent presentations, pre-conference workshops, poster sessions, and other program formats to assure a successful event.

Advisory board members serve a two-year term and meet yearly at the NACADA annual conference. Members are asked to participate in a listserv and to join subcommittees when projects arise. While keeping a diverse group in mind, the advisory board members are chosen with the intent of showing representation across all regions and globally. Current membership is a neccessity. Experience as a presenter, years of attendance at the annual conference, service/leadership at the region level, and/or service on a conference planning committee are highly favored when considering an appointment. If interested in joining the advisory board, please contact Rhonda Baker at

Current Chair

Tom Mabry United States AirForce Academy

The Chair of the Advisory Board facilitates the work of the group by:

  • Working with the Executive Office staff on issues that need attention or discussion.
  • Facilitating Advisory Board discussion on issues via email and/or conference calls.
  • Facilitating Advisory Board meetings during the Annual Conference.
  • Working with the Executive Office and the President on appointment of new members each year.
  • Providing written reports to the Board of Directors at least twice annually.


Gayle Juneau-Butler, Post Conference Chair (2015), University of Nevada-Las Vegas (2014-2016)

Beverley Childress, Auburn University  (2016-2018)

Bruce Norris, incoming chair, West Chester University of Pennsylvania (2016-2018)

Barbara Smith, University of Texas - San Antonio  (2014-2016)

Dan Turner, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (2014-2016)

Oscar van den Wijngaard, University of College Maastricht (2014-2016)

Pat Mason-Browne, University of Iowa (2015-2017)

Kevin Knutson, Western Michigan University (2015-2017)

Susan Aufderheide, Purdue University (2015-2017)

Chris Hutt, 2016 Annual Conference Chair, Kennesaw State (2015-2017)

Sherrie Bosse, University of South Dakota (2015-2017)

Andrea Harris, Pepperdine University (2015-2017)

Kevin Thomas, Incoming 2017 Annual Conference Chair, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (2015-2018)

Nicole Gaillard, Aurburn University (2016-2018)

Trevor Hodge, Birmingham City University (2016-2018)

Joshua Johnson, University of Central Florida (2016-2018)

David Spight, Ex Officio, University of Texas (2015-2016)

Rhonda Baker, Executive Office Liaison