Diversity Committee

                    2015 Diversity Committee meeting-700

The role of the Diversity Committee is to make recommendations regarding diversity issues within the Association. The committee reviews the status of diversity within the organization, recommends methods for enhancing diversity, and advises on how the association can better meet the needs of its diverse membership (Policy number AD-05). While the Multicultural Commission focuses on issues of advising and student success, the Diversity Committee focuses on association issues.

NACADA defines diversity from a very broad perspective, which includes diversity in regard to ethnicity, gender, gender identity, and sexual orientation as well as diversity in regard to institutional type, size, and employment position. Involvement in the association also is viewed broadly including leadership at many levels (within the division units, at the division level, at the Council level, at the Board of Directors level, and with the various work groups, ad hoc committees, and task forces), serving with the Consultant and Speaker Service, writing for a NACADA publication (such as the Journal, Academic Advising Today, and the NACADA Clearinghouse of Academic Advising Resources), or presenting at state, allied member, regional, annual, or international conferences.

Committee members serve a two-year term and meet yearly at the NACADA annual conference.  Hear from three committee members HERE.  Those interested in becoming a member should contact the committee Chair.

Executive Office Liaison: Leigh Cunningham

Current Committee ChairCarol Pollard, Chair

Carol Pollard, University of North Texas

Committee Members

Carol Pollard, Chair (2015-2017) University of North Texas (2012-2018)
Cecilia Olivares, Emerging Leader Program Advisory Board Chair, University of Memphis (2014-2016)
Heather Doyle, Incoming Emerging Leader Program Advisory Board Chair, Dalhousie University (2016-2018)
Angelica Barrera, Membership Committee Liaison, Texas State University (2016-2018)
Terri Miller, University of California San Diego (2014-2016)
Sheriece Robinson, University of Mississippi-DeSoto (2014-2016)
Michelle Sotolongo, Texas State University-San Marcos (2014-2016)
Kerry Spitze, Cayuga Community College Fulton Campus (2014-2016)
Jason Wiegand, Iowa State University (2014-2016)
Henrietta Genfi, Bentley University (2013-2017)
Craig McGill, Florida International University (2015-2017)
Mark Nelson, Oklahoma State University (2015-2017)
Mandy Stephens, Carroll University (2015-2017)
Sarah Stevens, University of Southern Indiana (2015-2017)
Michelle Ware, University of Notre Dame (2013-2017)
Abbie Windsor, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (2013-2017)
JP Villavicencio, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (2016-2018)
Jermain Pipkins, Los Angeles Valley College (2016-2018)
Jonelle Golding, Michigan State University (2016-2018)
Joshua Adams, Texas Woman's University (2016-2018)
Lisa Laughter, Washington State University (2016-2018)
Leigh Cunningham, NACADA Executive Office Liaison